office outfit

This is some sweet mail that I picked up recently, after winning (winning!) an ebay auction ages ago.

office outfit

It’s an Office Outfit!

Opened up, it has rows and rows of yet-unused, unseparated rubber letters, words, numbers, and punctuation. It also has little tweezers to pick up the type. I adore it. When I was little, my dad used to work at a car dealership, and I used to love going in there after hours to sit on the high stools that the receptionist-secretaries used (you called them that then!) and play with their date stamps and “paid” and “copy” and “received” stamps. Ah, heaven! I was born to have a justrite office outfit.

office outfit kit

I love that it might have belonged to a botanist once. One who would have had a need to stamp
Cystopteris fragilis L on things.

Cystopteris fragilis L.

Ah, who am I kidding? He would have had not only a need to stamp Cystopteris fragilis L. (Bernhardt) on things, but would have had a secretary to do it for him, no doubt. It being 1956 and all.

Bernhardt

This entry was posted in fun. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to office outfit

  1. Sarah says:

    Love! I look forward to playing with your stamps next time I come for a visit. I promise to come.

    This reminds me of the time I won a similar (though not vintage) stamp set at a silent auction. They had all the winners names and their winnings up on a big screen. Mine said “Sarah – RubberS”. Ah, good times, buying rubbers at a silent auction.

Leave a Reply

